email page print page small type large type
Home >
News & Calendar > News Archives
Tools : Bookmark and Share

Science Department Honors Student Excellence
Posted 05/25/2012 03:19PM

The pergola behind the Clark Center for Science & Mathematics served as the setting on Friday for the Science Department to honor 104 students who have excelled in the study of science this year.

“We thank you sincerely for the enthusiasm and dedication that you’ve brought to your classes,” Edward Pond, head of the Science Department, told the gathered students, each of whom received a certificate of recognition from his or her teacher.

Ed also recognized several groups of students that have taken their passion for science beyond the formal classroom and engaged in projects, programs, and independent studies related to science. These groups included the Robotics Club, which Ed praised for taking the theory they learned in the classroom and putting it into practice; the Sustainability Committee and e-proctors, who “have transformed the south end of the science center and are transforming the environmental awareness and culture of the school”; a group of students who built a model wind turbine and hope to construct a full-scale version that would power the school’s chicken coop area; and the founding members of the Phage Hunters, a group that is “turning our high school classrooms into research laboratories.” In addition, Ed noted, two students are completing independent study projects in biology this spring and will make presentations next week.

The students and teachers at the honors brunch also thanked librarian Gail Ryan for ably and attentively maintaining the science collection in the library and acting as a liaison with the Science Department. Gail, who has worked at Loomis Chaffee for 20 years, is retiring after the school year.

Students honored at the event were:

Abigail Adams
JinSeok Ahn
Sakirat Akadri
Nicholas Aldridge
Leon An
Gabriela Angelini
Antoine Audet
Roxane Barbera
Liana Barron
Michael Basmajian
William Bogle
Alexandra Brunstad
Charles Brunstad
Arianna Calabrese
David Calafiore
Mairead Campbell
Jungmin Cha
HyunJoo Cho
Aaron Civale
Spencer Congero
Zachary Coutu
James Cox
Julia Crerend
Erin Currey
Michael Danielczuk
Patrick Dickert
James Dion
William Doran
Brenden Edwards
Oscar Feng
Harris Fisher
Katherine Fotos
Douglas Gorman
Shuncong Gu
Claire Hard
Nathan Harris
Junjie He
Dylan Hickey
Simone Hugh Sam
Gregory Jarnutowski
Min Yong Jung
Soo Yeon Jung
Nicholas Kamm
Harkanwal Kanwal
Alexandra Kendall
Charles Kenney
Paige Kerman
Chate Khemakongkanonth
Jaewon Kim
Kyung-Sik Kim
Minsoo Kim
Jacob King
Ian Knapp
Ekaterina Kryuchkova
Krishna Kulkarni
Alexander Lafrance
Tuan Anh Lam
Alexandra Lasko
Nguyen Thanh Le
Ji Hyun Lee
Kikyung Lee
Justin Legowski
Kevin Lennon
Jungyeon Lim
John Macdonald
Haley Magwood
Shannon McCabe
Andy Munoz
Helena Murray
Cameron Nelson
Joseph Niemiroski
Gibran Okar
Purven Parikh
Alexander Perrone
Molly Pitegoff
Erika Purdy
Patryk Radlowski
Krishna Ragunathan
Alida Ratteray
Sarah Regan
Terry Roh
Rachel Rosenblatt
Leah Rubin
Ji Hwan Seung
Andrew Shichman
Hannah Shushtari
Alexander Smith
Jarrod Smith
Victoria Smith
Danielle Snajder
Nickolas Stasack
Diana Suciu
Heidi Taggart
Beatrice Thomas
Meredith Thomas
Samuel Verney
Noah Verzani
Dianne Vitkus
Steven Wang
Xin Wen
Sarah Williams
Hanbyul Woo
JingTing Zhang
Eliana Zhou

Follow Sheila Culbert @SculbertLC
Follow the school @loomischaffee

Event Calendar

facebook twitter linkedin rss Follow Me on Pinterest    © 2014 Loomis Chaffee     About This Site     Contact Us     4 Batchelder Road     Windsor, CT 06095     Tel 860 687 6000
powered by finalsite