Head of School Search

Grubbs Quad

On January 20, 2022, Head of School Sheila Culbert announced that she will be retiring at the conclusion of the 2022–23 academic year. Duncan MacLean ’90, chair of the Board of Trustees, followed Sheila’s announcement with a letter to the community thanking Sheila for what will be 15 years of service to Loomis Chaffee when she retires in June 2023. You can read both letters below.

Sheila Culbert’s announcement to the Loomis Chaffee Community.
Duncan MacLean’s letter to the school community.

On February 2, 2022, the Board of Trustees announced the formation of the Head of School Search Committee. The charge of the Search Committee is to recommend to the Board of Trustees the single best candidate to lead the school starting in July 2023. It is the responsibility of the Board to appoint the new head of school.

One of the Search Committee's first tasks was to select a search firm to be its partner in the process of identifying the next head of school. On March 7, 2022 the Board of Trustees announced that it had retained the services of Spencer Stuart, a highly regarded international executive search firm with a strong record in independent school leadership searches. 

Spencer Stuart welcomes your confidential input and nominations via LoomisHoS@spencerstuart.com.


The Loomis Chaffee School

Search Committee

Committee Chair
Bruce D. Alexander ’61, Trustee

Committee Members

Katherine Ballard P ’13, ’14, ’17, Trustee

Neville S. Bowers ’01, Trustee

John M. Bussel ’87, P ’21, Trustee

Neil D. Chaudhary ’05, Faculty

Pauline W. Chen ’82, P ’20, Former Trustee

Lance Hall, Administrative Faculty

Courtney Jackson, Faculty

Rachel D. Kort ’98, Trustee

Duncan A.L. MacLean ’90, P’24 Chair of the Board of Trustees (ex officio)

Edward B. Pond, Faculty

David A. Rogan ’76, P ’04, Trustee

Mary Bucksbaum Scanlan ’87, Trustee

Lynn A. Petrillo ’86, Administrative Faculty