Katharine Brush Flash Fiction Contest Winners Announced


The winners of the fifth annual Katharine Brush Flash Fiction Contest were recently announced by the Writing Initiatives faculty. 

The judges — former faculty member Fred Seebeck, writer Danielle Flores de Benzerga ’00 and Hartford’s 2020 teacher of the year, Shakira Perez — selected 20 stories from the 48 submissions for special commendation.  

Gold Medal Winners  
Senior Aidan Cooper 
Junior Emily Khym 
Freshman Grace Rodner 

Silver Medal Winners 
Freshman Victoria Amador 
Sophomore Katie Fullerton 
Junior Sal Katz 
Freshman Nellie Kenney 
Sophomore Ethan Song 

Bronze Medal Winners 
Junior Zoe Alford 
Sophomore Michael Hoffman 
Junior Dora Lin 
Senior Mercy Olagunju 
Freshman Katie Sigrist 
Junior Ella Xue 

Honorable Mention 
Senior Emma Dear 
Sophomore Isabella Delach 
Sophomore Nana Achiaa Donkor 
Sophomore Anna Lee Geoghan 
Junior Serena Kim 
Sophomore Annie Shactman