Katharine Brush Creative Writing Contest Winners Announced

The winners of the second annual Katharine Brush Creative Writing Contest were announced by the Writing Initiatives faculty last week. To enter the contest, 38 students submitted "flash fiction" stories beginning with one of three titles found in American novelist Katharine Brush's journals, where she noted potential titles for her own works. Submissions were due in January, and the panel of judges included Dana Reinhardt '89, author of eight young adult fiction books; Thomas Reed, professor emeritus at Dickinson College; and former faculty member Ron Marchetti. The judges selected a total of 15 winners. From those, the judges named one gold medal with distinction; three gold-, four silver-, and four bronze-medal stories; and three honorable mentions. Junior Eleanor Peters received a gold medal with distinction, and senior Johnny Eyvazzadeh, junior Danny Cui, and sophomore Isabel Ruppel received gold medals. Connect to the complete list of award recipients. The winning stories will be displayed in the Writing Studio during the month of May, and the Writing Initiatives faculty encourages everyone to stop by and enjoy some great reading and writing.