Katharine Brush Writing Contest Winners Announced

The winners of the first Katharine Brush Creative Writing Contest were announced by the Writing Initiatives faculty this week. To enter the contest, 52 students submitted flash fiction stories beginning with one of three leads originally written by American novelist Katharine Brush. Submissions were due in January, and the panel of judges, including Keith Scribner '80, Michele Martinez Campbell '80, and former faculty member Ron Marchetti, selected a total of 34 winners. From those, the judges named six gold-, four silver-, and nine bronze-medal stories, and 15 honorable mentions. Students receiving gold medals included juniors Maria Fernanda Cassol and Azoya Clarke and sophomores Steele Citrone, Beatrice Dang, Min Jun Jung, and Angela Wang. Connect to the complete list of winners, including silver medalists, bronze medalists, and honorable mentions.