What can we help you find?

Awards Convocation Honors Students & Ed Pond

Senior inductees to the Cum Laude Society, junior Founders Prize recipients, senior and junior department award winners, and other student honorees were recognized at an all-school convocation Tuesday in the Olcott Center, and the Student Council announced the selection of Ed Pond as Teacher of the Year.

Head of School Sheila Culbert opened the ceremony by welcoming the gathered students, faculty, and families of award recipients. Curt Robison, secretary to the Loomis Chaffee Cum Laude Chapter, then announced the names of the 39 seniors for induction into the Cum Laude Society — a century-old fellowship of scholars that recognizes academic achievement in secondary schools.

Associate Head of School Webb Trenchard announced the 14 Founders Prize recipients and read citations for each. Founders Prizes are awarded to juniors who are selected by the faculty in recognition of outstanding academic achievement and significant contributions to the Loomis community. Webb then presented the junior and senior department awards to the individual recipients.

The Matthew Whitehead Prize, recognizing students whose actions have been instrumental in creating and supporting an inclusive community at Loomis Chaffee, was awarded to three seniors. The prize was established last year in honor of the late Matthew J. Whitehead II '57.

Two seniors also were presented with the WALKS Foundation's Barnes Service Award for their "outstanding and exemplary" community service.

After the awards presentations, senior Taseen Anwar, the outgoing Student Council president, highlighted several of the achievements of this year's student government, including the council's adoption of the motto pro bono communi, which is Latin for "the common good." Taseen acknowledged the work of the 100th Student Council, the student representatives, and faculty advisors Eric LaForest and Elliott Beck. Taseen then "passed the gavel" to junior Deuce Ford, the newly-elected president of the Student Council.

Taseen also announced the Teacher of the Year Award. From a number of essays submitted by students, the Student Council selected Ed Pond, physics teacher, Kravis dorm head, and longtime boys and girls water polo coach, for the honor. In her nominating essay, junior Louisa Gao wrote, "I will always remember Mr. Pond's colorful bowtie, his smile every time he walks into our classroom, and, most importantly, how fortunate I am to be his student and to find my passion for physics because of his enthusiasm."

Connect to a complete listing of the 2017 All-School Awards on the Loomis Chaffee website.
Powered by Finalsite