Skip To Main Content
No post to display.
  • School History
Campus Transformation

Discover the Island’s transformation from a rural neighborhood with adjacent farmlands to a Colonial Revival style campus designed in keeping with the most modern features of early twentieth-century American school buildings. Work began in July 1913. By the opening of school in September 1914, views and vistas on the Island changed dramatically.
 

Willows from West Drive—July 26, 1913

Willows from West Drive—July 26, 1913

This photograph, taken just as construction began in July 1913, hardly resembles the campus today. The 1913 school prospectus noted, “Already picturesque, the site … is to be largely improved as part of the general scheme for the  landscape and architectural development of the school.”
 

Steam Shovel—1913

Steam Shovel—1913

Steam shovels greatly aided the excavation of Loomis building sites, one of the first times in Windsor this new technology was employed. The Phelps House, taken down for the construction of the Katharine Brush Library can be seen in the background.
 

Picks and Shovels—July 22, 1913 

Picks and Shovels—July 22, 1913

After the steam shovel did its work, men with picks and hand shovels continued to dig down to the Island’s bedrock. The Island’s terrain was especially unforgiving, and presented great challenges to the engineers, laborers, and architects. 
 

Power House—October 4, 1913

Power House—October 4, 1913

An early stage of work on the Power House included digging a cellar and laying the foundation. The Farmington River and the road to farmlands in the Plymouth lay beyond the construction site.
 

Power House—November 2, 1913 

Power House—November 2, 1913

As bricks were laid, the Power House’s stack rose on the east side of the building. The use of bricks in all the early school buildings was considered a modern approach to fireproofing the campus. 
 

Power House—March 3, 1914

Power House—March 3, 1914

The first completed structure on the new Loomis campus made a graceful architectural statement. The 1913 prospectus commented, “The buildings…are simple in finish, as befits a school of the Institute’s democratic character.” 
 

Loomis Road—July 22, 1913

Loomis Road—July 22, 1913

This photograph shows the very first stages of improvements to the road known today as Batchelder Road.
 

Willow Road—October 3, 1914

Willow Road—October 3, 1914

The completed Willow Road and its causeway made a graceful campus entrance for students and parents at the opening of school in September 1914.
 

Looking Southeast toward the New School Buildings—circa 1914

Looking Southeast toward the New School Buildings—circa 1914

This early campus view shows the completed Taylor Hall, Dining Hall, Mason Hall, and the campus’ first gym, later named Shimkus Gym. 


 

More Stories

Explore more stories from the Loomis Chaffee archives.