Skip To Main Content
No post to display.
  • School History
Signs of Spring

Arbor Day, 1920

Senior class of 1920 planting a tree

The senior class of 1920 participates in an annual tradition of the early school years. They planted their class tree, with some notable helpers, just outside the Chapel. Photo from the scrapbook of Jewett Flagg, Class of 1920.
 

Spring Flooding, 1970-early 1980s

View of the spring flooding from the Meadows

A unique view shows Loomis Chaffee during a spring flood. The 1984 flood remains legendary. Final exams were cancelled, and students departed campus in boats, ducking as they went under the Batchelder Road railroad bridge.
 

Lacrosse Practice, 1960

Boys lacrosse practice in1960

Loomis boys practice lacrosse on what is now the site of the Clark Science Center. The NEO Theater is on the far right; faculty houses in the background were moved in the late 1960s.
 

Head’s Garden in Spring Bloom, 1966

Head’s Garden in Spring Bloom, 1966

Bright tulips harken the arrival of spring. The original 1914 garden design called for colorful blooms lining bricked pathways. Choices of flowers have varied through time but the beauty of the Head’s Garden is a constant.
 

Art Class Inspired by Spring on the Island, early 1960s

Art teacher Sanford Low works en plein air with students

Art teacher Sanford Low works en plein air with students in a hedge-bordered courtyard north of the Longman Studio. Evelyn Longman’s sculpture, Pan at the Fountain, is in the background.
 

The Quad, mid 1930s

Loomis boys enjoy free time on a spring day in the quad

Loomis boys enjoy free time on a spring day in the quad. Today’s students may dress a lot differently than their predecessors, but the appeal of hanging out in the Grubbs Quadrangle a sunny spring day remains an Island classic.


 

More Stories

Explore more stories from the Loomis Chaffee archives.