Three Alumni Named All-NESCAC Hockey Players


Three Loomis Chaffee ice hockey alumni earned All-New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) honors on Tuesday, March 1, for their play this winter. 

Forward Justin Grillo ’17, a senior at Colby College, was named to the All-NESCAC First Team for men’s ice hockey after leading his Colby team with 22 points this year, including nine goals and 13 assists in 21 games played. The nomination is Grillo’s first NESCAC honor in his four years at Colby. 

Forward Madie Leidt ’17, a senior and team captain at Middlebury College, and defender Abigail Kuhns ’19, a junior at Hamilton College, both received All-NESCAC honors with spots on the First Team for women’s ice hockey. 

Leidt, who leads the NESCAC in scoring this season with 27 points in 20 games, also was named the conference’s Player of the Year for the second season in a row. The honor caps a NESCAC career during which she was the Rookie of the Year in 2018, a Second Team honoree in 2018, a three-time First Team honoree, and a two-time Player of the Year. 

Kuhns had a breakout season this year, ranking fourth in the conference among defenseman with 10 assists in 19 games. 

Kuhns and the Continentals will take on Madie and the Panthers on Saturday, March 5, at 1 p.m. in NESCAC Tournament semifinal action.