Winter Varsity Athletics Awards


The Athletics Department hosted the annual Winter Varsity Awards ceremony on Sunday, March 24, as the winter varsity teams and their coaches, as well as parents and other supporters, gathered in the Hubbard Performance Hall to honor the teams and their players on a great season.

Among the highlights of the season: Loomis won the New England Prep School Athletic Conference (NEPSAC) Class B Championship in girls squash for the first time in program history and Founders League championships in girls basketball, girls ice hockey, and boys swimming. The girls basketball team advanced to the NEPSAC championship game, and the equestrian team sent several of its riders to the regional championships for the second straight year.

Coaches of each sport spoke about their teams and presented awards to individual standouts. Read the speeches here.

Below are the individual awards winners for each team:

Varsity Wrestling

Charles Kim Ironman Award: Senior Jack Kavanaugh

Coaches' Awards: Seniors Maalik McPhereson and Kaiser Garcia

Girls Varsity Swimming and Diving

Coaches' Awards: Sophomore Sophie Rodner and junior Neala Sweeney

Co-Ed Varsity Skiing

Most Valuable Racers: Seniors Maddie Corsetti and Jack Lorenze

Co-Ed Equestrian

Coaches' Award: Senior Liam Scott

Boys Varsity Squash

Most Improved Player: Senior captain Reid McCandless

Most Valuable Player: Junior Marco Wang

Sportsmanship Award: Senior captain Tarquin Hanson

Boys Varsity Basketball

Most Improved Player: Junior Reece Brown

Coaches' Award: Senior Jalen Desravines

Most Valuable Player: Senior Jake Glezen

Captains Award: Sophomore Chase Collyer

Girls Varsity Ice Hockey

Most Valuable Player: Senior Jess Schryver

Coaches' Award: Senior Abby Kuhns

Chuck Vernon Award: Seniors Maddie Hong and Georgia Kraus

Boys Varsity Ice Hockey

Most Valuable Teammate: Senior Thomas Martin

Joe Birarelli "Living the Dream" Scholarship Award: Senior Reilly Connors

Golden Buoy Award: Junior Kennedy O'Connor

Boys Varsity Swimming and Diving

Coaches' Award: Senior Benedict Laidlaw and senior captain Jaden Rismey

Bob Hartman Most Valuable Swimmer: Junior Min Jun Jung

The Riccio Award: Senior captain CJ Owen

Girls Varsity Basketball

Coaches' Award: Senior Grace Lawrence

Most Valuable Players: Seniors Maddy Stevens ad Reilly Campbell

Girls Varsity Squash

Coaches' Award: Senior Ashley Edwards

Most Valuable Player: Senior Lily Taylor