Winter Varsity Athletics Awards


The winter varsity athletics teams hosted their annual end-of-season awards on Sunday, April 19, as the teams, their coaches, families, and alumni got together via Zoom to celebrate their seasons.

Highlights from the winter season included a Founders League title for the boys swimming and diving team, a Founders League championship and a New England Prep School Athletic Conference (NEPSAC) Class A championship for the boys basketball team, a NEPSAC Martin/Earl Large School title for the boys ice hockey team, and an appearance in the newly instituted Chuck Vernon Elite Eight Tournament for the girls ice hockey team.

Read athletic director Sue Cabot’s remarks to the teams before their celebration.

Below are the award winners for each team:

Varsity Wrestling

Charles Kim Ironman Award: Senior Arjun Ahilan

Coaches Award: Junior Pedro Arellano

Most Valuable Wrestler: Junior Dom Rossetti

Service Award: Vicky Scanlon

Girls Varsity Swimming and Diving

Most Valuable Swimmer: Junior Alexa McQuaid

Coaches' Awards: Seniors Kelly Eng and Neala Sweeney and junior Sophie Rodner

Swim/Polo Pelican Award: Senior Virginia Joyce

Co-Ed Varsity Skiing

Most Valuable Racers: Seniors Jack Glassie, Calabria DeFazio, and Emma MacDonald

Co-Ed Equestrian

Coaches' Award: Senior Catherine Hughes

Boys Varsity Squash

Sportsmanship Award: Senior Marco Wang

Most Valuable Player: Junior Nicholas Sticka

Boys Varsity Basketball

Most Improved Player: Senior Reece Brown

Coaches' Awards: Senior Josh Menard and junior Elliyas Delaire

Most Valuable Player: Senior R.J. Blakney

Girls Varsity Ice Hockey

Most Valuable Player: Senior Jenna Donohue

Coaches' Award: Senior Jenna Stevens

Chuck Vernon Award: Senior Bree Bergeron

Boys Varsity Ice Hockey

Offensive MVP: Senior Cody Hoban

Defensive MVP: Junior Adam Chauvette

Unsung Hero Award: Senior Mathieu Schneider

Joe Birarelli "Living the Dream" Scholarship Award: Senior Kennedy O’Connor

Golden Buoy Award: Senior Adam Martin

Boys Varsity Swimming and Diving

Coaches' Awards: Seniors Gus Hawley and Anthony Lo

The Riccio Award: Senior Min Jun Jung

Girls Varsity Basketball

Coaches' Awards: Seniors Sky Hanley and Bry Johnson

Most Valuable Player: Junior Anahi Lee-Cauley

Girls Varsity Squash

Coaches' Awards: Seniors Emily Lent and Sadie Olcott