Model U.N. Wraps Up Record-Breaking Season

Model U.N. students at Yale University in New Haven, Conn. in January

Loomis Chaffee’s Model United Nations organization enjoyed a record-breaking year with large numbers of individual awards recorded at each of their three 2019-20 season conferences.

Rachel Engelke, history teacher and Model U.N. faculty advisor, noted that the skills learned through participation at conferences — debate, discussion, collaboration, team-building, innovation, creativity, and imagination — are all critically in-need right now for domestic policy discussions and global diplomacy.  

The season kicked off in Lisbon, Portugal, as 12 experienced Model U.N. students represented Loomis Chaffee at the Yale Model Government Europe Conference, (YMGE) November 28–30, 2019. Attended by 400 students representing 30 delegations from around the world, the YMGE conference simulates political and diplomatic interactions in the European Union. On January 23–25, a contingent of 28 Loomis Chaffee students participated in the Yale Model United Nations Conference (YMUN XVI) in New Haven, Conn. The Pelicans’ season concluded at the Boston Invitational Model United Nations Conference (BOS MUN XIX) on February 7–9, with 19 delegates from the Island in attendance.

This was the first season that at least half of the Loomis Chaffee delegates at each conference won an award, according to Rachel. The highlights from this year’s season include six of 12 individual students bringing home awards from the Portugal conference and a second place team win for “Outstanding Small Delegation.” January’s Yale conference saw 14 of 28 Pelicans win an individual award — the most ever for Loomis at any conference! For 9 of the 14 Yale winners, the award was their first. During Heads Holiday in Boston, a record-breaking 11 of 19 students from the Loomis contingent won an individual award.

“Every one of the Loomis delegates in a Specialized, ECOSOC (Economic and Social Council), or Crisis Committee won — a clean sweep of 10 for 10!” said Rachel of the groups’ Boston conference results.

At all three conferences, junior Aidan Gillies won “Best Delegate,” the top prize in each committee, and a Loomis Chaffee Model U.N. record.

Rachel commended three senior head delegates — Maral Asik, Alice Chen, and Margarita Demkina— for their guidance and mentoring of young and new delegates throughout the season. She added that she greatly appreciates the assistance of her two history faculty colleagues, Reem Aweida-Parsons and Kevin Guevara, who served as a chaperones for the Yale and Boston events, respectively.

Listed below are the individual student awards for each of the three conferences. First time award winners are denoted with an asterisk. (*)

Boston Invitational Model United Nations Conference, February 7–9

Verbal Commendation (fourth place)

Senior Min Jun Jung: House of Al Sabah, Kuwait 1990/First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defense

Sophomore Pilar Wingle: Social, Humanitarian & Cultural Committee (SOCHUM)/Canada

Sophomore Stephanie Zhang: Arab League: Pirates of the Somali Coast/Libya

Honorable Delegate (third place)

Sophomore Ryan Fortani: Netflix Executive Board 2017/Joseph P. Brennan

Junior Azaan Malik: European Union 2025/Greece


Outstanding Delegate (second place)

Senior Maral Asik: French Revolution & Trial of Marie Antoinette/Charles-Francois du Perier Dumouriez

Junior Victoria Che: U.N. World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)/Switzerland

Junior Brett Donshik: Taiwanese Independence/Myanmar


Best Position Paper

Senior Margarita Demkina: Boston Molasses Crisis “The Molassacre”/Howard Adams Carson, Chief Engineer of Boston Transit


Best Delegate (first place)

Junior Aidan Gillies: Game of Thrones/Kinavara, The Red Priestess

Junior Nicole Ramenda: United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)/Switzerland


Yale Model U.N. Conference in New Haven January 23–26

Honorable Delegate (third place)

Senior Margarita Demkina: JCC Cold War 1979: KGB/Vadim Bakatin, Third Chief Directorate

*Sophomore Ryan Fortani: Historical Legal 1998/Russia

*Sophomore Meghan Hall: Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND)/Nicaragua

*Freshman Michelle Liu: Social, Humanitarian & Cultural Committee (SOCHUM)/Ghana

*Junior Nicole Ramenda: U.N. Council on Human Rights (HR Council)/Brazil

*Junior Quinn Truong: U.N. Environment Programme (UNEP)/Mongolia

*Junior Kelly Xue: NGO Forum/Human Rights Watch


Outstanding Delegate (second place)

Senior Alice Chen: Disarmament & International Security Committee (DISEC)/United Kingdom

*Junior Harry Knight: African Union (AU)/South Sudan

*Freshman Calvin Pan: Commission on Population & Development (CPD)/Russia

*Junior Max Rosenberg: Historical Legal 1998/Venezuela


Best Delegate (first place)

Junior Victoria Che: Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)/Brunei

Junior Clara Chen: U.N. Security Council 2300 (UNSC)/United States

Junior Aidan Gillies: Tokyo 2020/Thomas Bach, President of the IOC

Loomis Model U.N. delegation at Boston Invitational MUN in February

Pelican award winners in Boston


Yale Model Government Europe Lisbon, Portugal November 28–30, 2019

Honorable Delegate (third place)

Senior Maral Asik

role: Josianne Cutajar (Malta)

committee in European Parliament: ITRE (Industry, Technology, Research, and Energy)


Senior Alice Chen

role: Minister of Employment, Social Policy, Health, and Consumer Affairs

committee: Netherlands Cabinet


*Senior Min Jun Jung

role: Ladislav Csemi, Ministry of Interior, Slovakia

committee: FRONTEX (European Border and Coast Guard Agency)


Outstanding Delegate (second place)

Junior Victoria Che 

role: Minister of Transportation

committee: Belgium Cabinet


Best Delegate (first place)

Junior Clara Chen

role: prosecution/from Sweden

committee: CJEU (Court of Justice of the European Union)


Best Delegate (first place)

Junior Aidan Gillies

role: Viola von Cramon-Taubadel (Germany)

committee: ITRE (Industry, Technology, Research, and Energy)

Read more and view photos from the YMGE Conference and Portugal trip organized through the Alvord Center for Global & Environmental Studies.